Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Revolver Announce Golden Gods Nominees and Award Show Headliner: Metallica

The fifth annual Revolver Golden Gods Awards will take place Thursday, May 2, at Club Nokia in Downtown LA. Fozzy frontman and WWE pro-wrestling personality Chris Jericho will host for the fourth consecutive year. The nominees in 11 different fan-voted categories, plus the recipients of this year's prestigious Ronnie James Dio Lifetime Achievement Award, Golden God Award and Riff Lord were revealed at a press conference at the Hard Rock Cafe Hollywood in Los Angeles.

The Ronnie James Dio Lifetime Achievement Award, will go to hard-rock and metal icons Metallica as well as the headlining slot on the show that will be broadcast live on AXS TV and XBox Live.  Metallica's Lars Ulrich commented: 
"Since the Revolver Golden Gods Awards is fast becoming THE most rocking awards ceremony in the hard rock world, we are beyond psyched to be at the receiving end of this shout out and in the distinguished company of RUSH, Lemmy, Ozzy and MÖTLEY CRÜE. I was hanging out and presenting at the shenanigans two years ago and the energy in the room and the vibe backstage was beyond f-cking cool, so Metallica is chomping at the bit to partake in this year's event. Once again, we are honored to be recognized as achievers (!!) and we can't wait to get up and jam onstage and sweat for and on everybody gathered."
You can cast your vote to decide who will take home the awards for Best Guitarist, Best Drummer, Best Vocalist, Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Best Live Band, Best New Talent, Most Metal Athlete, Comeback of the Year, Paul Gray Best Bassist and Most Dedicated Fans.

Voting is now open at and ends April 15

The nominees for the 2013 Revolver Golden Gods Awards are:

Best Guitarist
  • John 5 (Rob Zombie, Marilyn Manson)
  • Stephen Carpenter (Deftones)
  • Alex Lifeson (Rush)
  • Misha Mansoor (Periphery)
  • Brendon Small (Dethklok)
  • Kim Thayil (Soundgarden)
Best Drummer
  • Abe Cunningham (Deftones)
  • Mario Duplantier (Gojira)
  • Arejay Hale (Halestorm)
  • Gene Hoglan (Dethklok, Testament)
  • Roy Mayorga (Stone Sour)
  • Neil Peart (Rush)
Paul Gray Best Bassist
  • Rex Brown (Kill Devil Hill, Pantera)
  • Steve Harris (Iron Maiden)
  • Lemmy Kilmister (Motorhead)
  • Geddy Lee (Rush)
  • Jason Newsted (Newsted, Metallica)
  • Sergio Vega (Deftones)
Best Vocalist
  • Philip Anselmo (Down, Pantera)
  • Maria Brink (In This Moment)
  • Chris Cornell (Soundgarden)
  • Lzzy Hale (Halestorm)
  • Chino Moreno (Deftones)
  • Corey Taylor (Stone Sour, Slipknot)
Best New Talent
  • Device
  • Ghost
  • Kvelertak
  • Miss May I
  • Of Mice & Men
  • Young Guns
Most Metal Athlete
  • Tom Crabtree (Green Bay Packers, NFL)
  • Tanner Faust (Rally and drifting car racing)
  • Clay Guida (Mixed Martial Arts fighting, UFC)
  • Triple H (WWE wrestling)
  • Geoff Rowley (Skateboarding)
  • CJ Wilson (Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, MLB)
Best Live Band
  • Anthrax
  • Five Finger Death Punch
  • Hatebreed
  • Lamb of God
  • Slipknot
  • Volbeat
Comeback Of The Year
  • Aerosmith
  • The Darkness
  • Quicksand
  • Refused
  • Soundgarden
  • Tenacious D
Song Of The Year
  • Asking Alexandria - "Run Free"
  • Avenged Sevenfold -"Carry On"
  • Black Veil Brides - "In The End"
  • Dethklok - "I Ejaculate Fire"
  • Halestorm - "Love Bites (So Do I)"
  • In This Moment - "Blood"
Most Dedicated Fans
  • Black Label Society
  • Black Veil Brides
  • A Day to Remember 
  • Him
  • Rammstein
  • Slipknot
Album Of The Year
  • Deftones - "Koi No Yokan"
  • Gojira - "L'Enfant Sauvage"
  • Halestorm - "The Strange Case Of…"
  • Marilyn Manson - "Born Villain"
  • Soundgarden - "King Animal"
  • Stone Sour - "House Of Gold & Bones Part 1"

No comments:

Post a Comment